AboutEventsWine BarCourtyardStore PicksShop OnlineContact Us

bookstore with that lost independent feel -- a relaxed, inviting environment conducive to discovery, where quality takes precedence over quantity, where the books marginalized by commercial concerns have a home. If you come in looking for something specific, we will have it or we will find it for you. If you come in looking for nothing in particular, you can lose yourself in a world of new ideas.

specializing
Featured Books
One Hundred Years of Solitude Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Love in the Time of Cholera Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Monthly Poetry Workshop, lead by Claire McMahon

April 24, 2014 | 6pm-8pm

The Public Poetry Workshop comes to the West side once a month. Poets of all ages and backgrounds are welcome to bring a work-in-progress and receive recommendations for improving it. Our goal is friendly, yet serious critiques by emerging and experienced writers. Improvement of craft through reading, writing, and workshopping with Instructors Claire McMahon and a guest host.

The workshop meets at Visible Voice Books on every 4th Thursday of the month. Contact Claire McMahon with questions and to join the group's mailing list.

Claire McMahon has an MFA in Writing & Poetics from Naropa University (Boulder, Colorado) and a Ph.D. in 20th Cent. American & British Poetry from Kent State University. She is co-editor of MoonLit poetry journal (Drag City Press, Chicago) and the author of a book of poems entitled, Emergency Contact (Van Zeno Press, Cleveland). She has taught English writing courses locally at Lake Erie College, Baldwin-Wallace College, Cuyahoga Community College, and Chancellor University. Currently, Claire is an Adjunct Professor of Humanities at Bowling Green University’s Firelands campus.

Book Event: Working for the Greater Good of All....Really: Ken Lanci

April 25, 2014 | 7-9

Ken Lanci is a native Clevelander, successful businessman, and philanthropist. He has over 30 years of business experience; growing his own successful printing company and helping other businesses emerge from failure and thrive. When he sees problems, he tackles them, head on. He is driven by one goal, to work for the greater good of all.


Ken entered politics to take the next step on his journey of faith, to work for the people of his community. He ran for the office of Cuyahoga County executive in 2010 as an independent, pledging to work for just $1 a year. He accepted no donations to his campaign and spent $1 million of his own money so that, if elected, he could work for the community without owing anyone any favors. He dug deep into the problems facing the county and while a candidate, worked with over 60 services directors and met with about 30 suburban mayors and officials to develop practical solutions. He was guided solely by the best interests of the people of Cuyahoga County for the greater good of all. Ken also ran for Mayor of Cleveland in the 2013 election.

In Working for the Greater Good of All...Really, Ken tells his story, from childhood in the streets of eastside Cleveland, to learning to be a business man. He talks candidly about his death at age 57 and recovery, which put him on his current journey of faith.


ARTIST BIO

Artwalk Artist: Ken Kurp

May 4, 2014 | 7pm

HEDGE Gallery is excited to present Ken Kurp’s new works at Visible Voice Books opening April 11th 2014 for the Tremont Art Walk. Ken is a neighboring artist and framer in 78th Street Studios, and has been creating drawings and collages for as long as he can remember.

Ken co-owns Walken Frame & Art in the 78th Street Studios, and when he’s not busy working on hand crafted and intricately designed frames for clients, he can be found cutting, pasting and painting his own art works. Ken uses scraps of other artists’ works, cuttings from vintage magazines and newsprint and other repurposed materials to create his humorous, tongue in cheek illustrations.

He will often repurpose other found materials to create beautifully designed frames for his drawings.

Ken’s work will be on display at Visible Voice through May 4th.

For any additional questions regarding his work please contact gallery director, Hilary Gent at 216.650.4201 or hedgeartgallery.com.

May ArtWalk: Kevin P. Keating author of "The Natural Order of Things"

May 9, 2014 | 7pm-9pm

May ArtWalk: Author Event w/ Kevin P. Keating
Friday, May 9th | 6-10pm

Stop by the store during the Tremont ArtWalk for an author event. As always, Happy Hour is Fridays from 5-8, $1 off all beer and wine.


Set in a decaying urban Midwest, with its entire atmosphere dominated and charged by on Jesuit prep school, The Natural Order of Things is a window into the human condition. From the opening chapter and its story of the doomed quarterback Frank McSweeney, aka The Minotaur, for whom prayers prove not enough, to the end, wherein the school’s former headmaster is betrayed by his peers in the worst possible way, we see people and their oddness and ambitions laid out bare before us.

Kevin P. Keating is an adjunct professor at Baldwin-Wallace. His fiction and essays have appeared all over the literary map. His debut novel, The Natural Order of Things was a finalist for the L.A. Times Art Seidenbaum First Fiction Award. It's comprised of 15 interconnected stories in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio or John Steinbeck's The Pastures of Heaven. The novel con cerns the adventures and exploits of a small group of students, teachers, employees, and priests at a Jesuit prep school in a dying industrial city. No surprise that Keating himself is a St. Ignatius High School alum. The Natural Order of Things will be published by Vintage in April, 2014.

ArtWalk Artist TBA


ARTIST BIO

Cleveland Jumping Flea Open Ukulele Jam

May 10, 2014 | 1pm

A monthly ukulele meet-up group. Open to beginners AND experts who enjoy playing the ukulele.


ARTIST BIO

Book Event: Best Hikes Near Cleveland: Joe Baur

May 16, 2014 | 7pm-9pm

Who says you have to travel far from home to go on a great hike? In Best Hikes Near Cleveland author Joe Baur details the best hikes within an hour's drive of the greater Cleveland area perfect for the urban and suburbanite hard-pressed to find great outdoor activites close to home. Each featured hike includes detailed hike specs, a brief hike description, trailhead location, directional cues, a detailed map, and color photos.

Cleveland Vegan Book Club

May 30, 2014 | 7pm-9pm

The Cleveland Animal Rights Alliance's book club meetings take place every other month at Visible Voice Books in Tremont (in their upstairs meeting room). We feature books on various aspects of veganism including health, ethics, environmental issues, social justice, etc.

Join us for some consciousness-raising discussion and a great opportunity to network and build community with others who care about animals, the earth and healthy eating!

Check out our website: https://www.facebook.com/ClevelandVeganBookClub


ARTIST BIO



VIEW ALL EVENTS