AboutEventsWine BarCourtyardStore PicksShop OnlineContact Us
=Visible Voice Books Events
spoken word Open Mic Courtyard Wine Bar Film Night Book Events Art

Cleveland Acoustic Instrument Jam Meet Up

April 16, 2014 | 6pm-8pm

The purpose of this meet up group is to bring musicians of various ages, skill levels, interests and backgrounds together to have fun, build community and relationships via the time-honored tradition of playing live, acoustic music together!

Our January Meetup at Visible Voice was fantastic! Music, fun (and wine) was had by all.

The book store is great, come in early and browse their eclectic collection then mosey on upstairs for our jam session. The room is private, comfortable and has great acoustics!

Join the Meet Up group here to recieve updates:
http://www.meetup.com/Cleveland-acoustic-instrument-jam-group/


ARTIST BIO

Second Hand Dogs present Thursday Musical Open Mic Nights

April 17, 2014 | 7-9:30pm

Come and share some talent with us in the store on Thursday nights.


ARTIST BIO

BOOK EVENT: "Walrus and the Elephants" by Jim Mitchell

April 18, 2014 | 7-9pm

Join author Jim Mitchell to discuss The Walrus and The Elephants: John Lennon’s Years of Revolution at Visible Voice Books


Author and journalist Jim Mitchell will discuss his recently released The Walrus and the Elephants: John Lennon’s Years of Revolution. Jim will be speaking about John Lennon’s early years of social activism, his music with the progressive New York band Elephant’s Memory, and Lennon’s special relationship with Ann Arbor.

Based entirely on new interviews and research, The Walrus and the Elephants is the first book about John Lennon to show how his emergence as a solo artist, his embrace of radical politics and feminism, and his love affair with New York City coincided. From controversial television appearances, to benefit concerts, to his new, post-Beatlemania band Elephant’s Memory, Walrus and the Elephants is Lennon’s story told by a cast of close friends and fellow activists from his Greenwich Village days.


JAMES A. MITCHELL is the author of But for the Grace: Profiles in Peace from a Nation at War, the story of an orphanage in Sri Lanka's war-torn northeast; rock biography It Was All Right: Mitch Ryder's Life in Music; and tales from a rural newspaper, Applegate: Freedom of the Press in a Small Town. A reporter and editor for more than twenty years, his writing has appeared in Entertainment Weekly, The Humanist, and Starlog.

“The Walrus and The Elephants is an indispensable window into an amazing time in American history and the history of rock and roll.” —Danny Goldberg, author of Bumping Into Geniuses

If you would like to arrange an interview with James Mitchell, please contact
Ruth Weiner at ruth@sevenstories.com or (212)-226-8760.

Friday, April 18th, 7pm – Free Event

Book Event: "When Blackness Was A Virtue" by Michael Grant Jaffe

April 19, 2014 | 6-8pm

Michael Grant Jaffe captures the chaos of the protagonist's sudden downturn in his personal life, dealing with an ex-wife who makes his life miserable, and trying to keep his children happy in the midst of it all. He finds release for his frustrations through the violence of his bookie job as he tries to make sense of what happened to his life and hold onto his morality.

When Blackness Was a Virtue is Michael Grant Jaffe's fourth novel. He's also the author of Whirlwind, Skateaway, and Dance Real Slow, which was adapted into the Twentieth Century Fox Film A Cool, Dry Place.

Monthly Poetry Workshop, lead by Claire McMahon

April 24, 2014 | 6pm-8pm

The Public Poetry Workshop comes to the West side once a month. Poets of all ages and backgrounds are welcome to bring a work-in-progress and receive recommendations for improving it. Our goal is friendly, yet serious critiques by emerging and experienced writers. Improvement of craft through reading, writing, and workshopping with Instructors Claire McMahon and a guest host.

The workshop meets at Visible Voice Books on every 4th Thursday of the month. Contact Claire McMahon with questions and to join the group's mailing list.

Claire McMahon has an MFA in Writing & Poetics from Naropa University (Boulder, Colorado) and a Ph.D. in 20th Cent. American & British Poetry from Kent State University. She is co-editor of MoonLit poetry journal (Drag City Press, Chicago) and the author of a book of poems entitled, Emergency Contact (Van Zeno Press, Cleveland). She has taught English writing courses locally at Lake Erie College, Baldwin-Wallace College, Cuyahoga Community College, and Chancellor University. Currently, Claire is an Adjunct Professor of Humanities at Bowling Green University’s Firelands campus.

Book Event: Working for the Greater Good of All....Really: Ken Lanci

April 25, 2014 | 7-9

Ken Lanci is a native Clevelander, successful businessman, and philanthropist. He has over 30 years of business experience; growing his own successful printing company and helping other businesses emerge from failure and thrive. When he sees problems, he tackles them, head on. He is driven by one goal, to work for the greater good of all.


Ken entered politics to take the next step on his journey of faith, to work for the people of his community. He ran for the office of Cuyahoga County executive in 2010 as an independent, pledging to work for just $1 a year. He accepted no donations to his campaign and spent $1 million of his own money so that, if elected, he could work for the community without owing anyone any favors. He dug deep into the problems facing the county and while a candidate, worked with over 60 services directors and met with about 30 suburban mayors and officials to develop practical solutions. He was guided solely by the best interests of the people of Cuyahoga County for the greater good of all. Ken also ran for Mayor of Cleveland in the 2013 election.

In Working for the Greater Good of All...Really, Ken tells his story, from childhood in the streets of eastside Cleveland, to learning to be a business man. He talks candidly about his death at age 57 and recovery, which put him on his current journey of faith.


ARTIST BIO

Artwalk Artist: Ken Kurp

May 4, 2014 | 7pm

HEDGE Gallery is excited to present Ken Kurp’s new works at Visible Voice Books opening April 11th 2014 for the Tremont Art Walk. Ken is a neighboring artist and framer in 78th Street Studios, and has been creating drawings and collages for as long as he can remember.

Ken co-owns Walken Frame & Art in the 78th Street Studios, and when he’s not busy working on hand crafted and intricately designed frames for clients, he can be found cutting, pasting and painting his own art works. Ken uses scraps of other artists’ works, cuttings from vintage magazines and newsprint and other repurposed materials to create his humorous, tongue in cheek illustrations.

He will often repurpose other found materials to create beautifully designed frames for his drawings.

Ken’s work will be on display at Visible Voice through May 4th.

For any additional questions regarding his work please contact gallery director, Hilary Gent at 216.650.4201 or hedgeartgallery.com.

May ArtWalk: Kevin P. Keating author of "The Natural Order of Things"

May 9, 2014 | 7pm-9pm

May ArtWalk: Author Event w/ Kevin P. Keating
Friday, May 9th | 6-10pm

Stop by the store during the Tremont ArtWalk for an author event. As always, Happy Hour is Fridays from 5-8, $1 off all beer and wine.


Set in a decaying urban Midwest, with its entire atmosphere dominated and charged by on Jesuit prep school, The Natural Order of Things is a window into the human condition. From the opening chapter and its story of the doomed quarterback Frank McSweeney, aka The Minotaur, for whom prayers prove not enough, to the end, wherein the school’s former headmaster is betrayed by his peers in the worst possible way, we see people and their oddness and ambitions laid out bare before us.

Kevin P. Keating is an adjunct professor at Baldwin-Wallace. His fiction and essays have appeared all over the literary map. His debut novel, The Natural Order of Things was a finalist for the L.A. Times Art Seidenbaum First Fiction Award. It's comprised of 15 interconnected stories in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio or John Steinbeck's The Pastures of Heaven. The novel con cerns the adventures and exploits of a small group of students, teachers, employees, and priests at a Jesuit prep school in a dying industrial city. No surprise that Keating himself is a St. Ignatius High School alum. The Natural Order of Things will be published by Vintage in April, 2014.

ArtWalk Artist TBA


ARTIST BIO

Cleveland Jumping Flea Open Ukulele Jam

May 10, 2014 | 1pm

A monthly ukulele meet-up group. Open to beginners AND experts who enjoy playing the ukulele.


ARTIST BIO

Cleveland Vegan Book Club

May 30, 2014 | 7pm-9pm

The Cleveland Animal Rights Alliance's book club meetings take place every other month at Visible Voice Books in Tremont (in their upstairs meeting room). We feature books on various aspects of veganism including health, ethics, environmental issues, social justice, etc.

Join us for some consciousness-raising discussion and a great opportunity to network and build community with others who care about animals, the earth and healthy eating!

Check out our website: https://www.facebook.com/ClevelandVeganBookClub


ARTIST BIO